[isabelle] 25th Automated Reasoning Workshop (ARW 2018), University of Cambridge, 12-13 April 2018

Dear colleagues,

please kindly share the following announcement
on the upcoming 25th Automated Reasoning Workshop (ARW 2018)
that will take place at the University of Cambridge
on 12-13 April 2018

Many thanks!

With kind regards,

Angeliki Koutsoukou-Argyraki




The 25th Automated Reasoning Workshop (ARW 2018) will take place at the University of Cambridge on 12-13 April 2018.


Ekaterina Komendantskaya (Heriot-Watt University)
Lawrence Paulson (University of Cambridge)


The workshop provides an informal forum for the automated reasoning community to discuss recent work, new ideas and applications, and current trends. It aims to bring together researchers from all areas of automated reasoning in order to foster links among researchers from various disciplines; among theoreticians, implementers and users alike.

Topics include but are not limited to:

- Theorem proving in classical and non-classical logics;
- Interactive theorem proving, logical frameworks, proof assistants, proof
- Reasoning methods:
    * Saturation-based, instantiation-based, tableau, SAT
    * Equational reasoning, unification
    * Constraint satisfaction
    * Decision procedures, SMT
    * Combining reasoning systems
    * Non-monotonic reasoning, commonsense reasoning
    * Abduction, induction
    * Model checking, model generation, explanation
- Formal methods to specifying, deriving, transforming and verifying computer systems, requirements and software
- Logic-based knowledge representation and reasoning:
    * Ontology engineering and reasoning
* Domain specific reasoning (spatial, temporal, epistemic,agents, etc)
- Logic and functional programming, deductive databases
- Implementation issues and empirical results, demos
- Machine learning and automated reasoning systems
- Practical experience and applications of automated reasoning

The workshop will be highly interactive, giving all attendees an opportunity to participate. There will be sessions for displaying posters and open discussion sessions organised around specific topics such as "Automated Reasoning and Artificial IntelligenceÃâÂ.


We invite the submission of camera-ready, two-page extended abstracts about recent work, work in progress, or a system description. The abstract can describe work that has already been published elsewhere. The main objective of the abstracts is to spread information about recent work in our community, and we expect to accept most on-topic submissions, but we may ask for revisions.

To prepare your submission, please use the ARW LaTeX style file provided from the workshop website. Each submission should include the names and complete addresses (including email) of all authors. For the final versions we require all sources (TeX file and any input files).

Please send your submissions via EasyChair at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=arw2018. Correspondence will be sent to corresponding authors indicated on EasyChair.


Abstracts will be published in informal workshop notes and will be made available on the workshop page. After the workshop we are hoping to solicit inaugural 25th anniversary of ARW articles for publication.


Each workshop participant will be asked to give a short talk (around 10 minutes depending on time constraints) to introduce their research. Each participant will also be allocated space in a poster session (poster size up to A0), where they can further present and discuss their work. Please prepare posters for the event.


We have a limited number of grants available to support PhD students in attending the event. If you are interested, please refer to the workshop website for details. The deadline to apply for student grants is 1 March 2018.


1 March 2018: Student grant application deadline
12 March 2018: Abstract submission
16 March 2018: Abstract, student grant notification
21 March 2018: Final version due, Registration deadline
12-13 April 2018: Workshop


Alexander Bolotov Chair (University of Westminster)
Jacques Fleuriot Secretary/Treasurer (University of Edinburgh)
Simon Colton (Goldsmiths College, University of London)
Louise Dennis (University of Liverpool)
Ullrich Hustadt (University of Liverpool)
Mateja Jamnik (University of Cambridge)
Florian Kammueller (Middlesex University)
Ekaterina Komendantskaya (Heriot-Watt University)
Alice Miller (University of Glasgow)
Oliver Ray (University of Bristol)
Renate Schmidt (University of Manchester)


Mateja Jamnik (Mateja dot Jamnik at cl dot cam dot ac dot uk)

Edward Ayers
Angeliki Koutsoukou-Argyraki
Wenda Li
Chaitanya Mangla
Lawrence Paulson
Zohreh Shams


arw2018 at easychair.org

This archive was generated by a fusion of Pipermail (Mailman edition) and MHonArc.