[isabelle] CfP: Workshop on Natural Formal Mathematics (NFM 2020)

Announcement and Call for Papers

Workshop on Natural Formal Mathematics (NFM 2020)

A workshop held between July 27 - 31, 2020 as part of the
13th Conference on Intelligent Computer Mathematics (CICM 2020)
(ONLINE; details to be announced on the CICM website

In (pure) mathematics there has always existed a strong informal sense of "naturality". "Natural" theories, notions, properties, or proofs are prefered over technical, convoluted, or counterintuitive approaches. If formal mathematics is to become part of mainstream mathematics, its formalizations and user experience have to become more "natural". This workshop broadly addresses the issue of naturality in formal mathematics.

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

    The notion of naturality in mathematics generally
    Natural input and output languages for formal mathematics systems
    Parsing natural mathematical language
    Controlled natural languages (CNL) for mathematics
    Making formal mathematics documents readable
    Naturality of foundational theories (types, sets, HOL, ...)
    Naturality of proof methods
    Natural proof structures and granularities
    Natural structurings of formalized mathematical texts and libraries
    Mathematical type setting (LaTeX) and formal mathematics
    Examples of natural formalizations

Invited speaker: tba

Submissions: We call for submissions of extended abstracts and demonstration proposals presenting work related to the workshop's topics of interest. To promote Natural Formal Mathematics unfinished or exploratory work will also be welcome. Electronic submission is done through EasyChair. Extended abstracts and demonstration proposals should be 1 page, formatted in LaTeX using the style onecolceurws.

    Submission deadline: June 15 2020
    Notification of acceptance: July 01 2020

Accepted papers and demonstrations should be presented online and live, to allow for questions and discussions. Abstracts will be made available online.

Program Committee

    Florian Rabe, Erlangen (co-chair)
    Peter Koepke, Bonn (co-chair)
    Merlin Carl, Flensburg
    Marcos Cramer, Dresden
    Adam Grabowski, Bialystok
    Michael Junk, Konstanz
    Cezary Kaliszyk, Innsbruck
    Andrea Kohlhase, Neu-Ulm
    Aarne Ranta, Gothenburg
    Josef Urban, Prague

This archive was generated by a fusion of Pipermail (Mailman edition) and MHonArc.